Youtube Facebook Twitter linked in
Membership & Registration at a Glance
IAgrE is the professional body for engineers, scientists, technologists and managers in agricultural and allied landbased industries. Click the icons to find out more.

Awards 2017

The 2017 IAgrE Awards were this year held after the AGM & EGM and we were generously hosted by John Deere UK at Langar

Citations for each award are available in the downloads section listed on the right.

The Honorary Fellowship AwardAn Honorary Fellowship is the highest commendation awarded by the Institution.  It recognises outstanding service to both the Institution and to the Agricultural Engineering Profession.

 There was no Honary Fellowship Awarded this year.


The IAgrE Award Of MeritThe Award of Merit is made to a person distinguished by their work in agricultural science or engineering or one that has rendered outstanding service to the Institution.
The award went to: 

Duncan Russell MIAgrE is delighted to receive his Award from IAgrE President Rob Merrall

IAgrE Award For Contribution To The Landbased SectorThis Award is made to IAgrE members who have made sustained contributions to the landbased sector throughout their career. There were 2 winners in 2017:

David White CEng CEnv FIAgrE said it was an honour and a privilege to be selected to receive such an award, which would be displayed in pride of place on his desk at home.

IAgrE Award For Contribution To The Landbased Sector


Caroline Drummond Chief Executive of LEAF expressed her sincere gratitude at being selected for the award and was particularly taken with the breadth of expertise from the delegates.

Michael Dwyer Memorial PrizeThe prize is to a mid-career engineer who has made outstanding progress in the agricultural engineering industry. The Institution is delighted that there were two winners again this year:

Robin Carter CEng MIAgrE the Engineering Manager at JCB Landpower- is pictured here thanking everyone for his award

Michael Dwyer Memorial PrizeThe prize is to a mid-career engineer who has made outstanding progress in the agricultural engineering industry. The Institution is delighted that there were two winners this year:

Jonathan Henry, Managing Director of John Deere UK was unable to attend the Awards Presentation but was pleased to welcome Alastair Taylor and Past President Peter Leech to Langar, where they presented him with his Prize.

Branch Meritorious Service AwardMade to members who have consistently rendered outstanding service to their Branch of the Institution or a Technical Group over a number of years, there were four awards this year:

David Clare, Wrekin Branch really enjoyed the day and was particularly happy to have the opportunity to catch up with some old friends.

Branch Meritorious Service Award 

Nick Handy CEng MIAgrE, Western Branch thanked the Institution and the President for his award and said it was very humbling to have his efforts recognised by the Institution.

Branch Meritorious Service Award

Mike Sheldon West Midlands Branch, conveyed his thanks to all involved for an excellent day, he was delighted to have been able to attend and accept his award.

Branch Meritorious Service Award

David Wilks East Midlands Branch, was very pleased to accept his award and very much enjoyed the day.

Douglas Bomford Paper AwardThe Award is offered to the author or authors of a paper which, in the previous calendar year, was published in full in the Institution journals “Landwards” and/or “Biosystems Engineering”. At least one of the authors must be a member of the Institution. The winner of the Award this year, for his contribution to the paper "Estimation of the density of pomegranate fruit and their fractions using X-ray computed tomography calibrated with polymeric materials" by Ebrahiema Arendse, Olaniyi Amos Fawole, Lembe Samukelo Magwaza and Umezuruike Linus Opara, Biosystems Engineering, Volume 148, August 2016, Pages 148-156, ISSN 1537-5110

Distinguished Professor Umezuruike Linus Opara from Stellenbosch University, Dr Opara was unable to attend the Presentation but was delighted to accept the award on behalf of his co-authors and sent a letter of thanks

Douglas Bomford Paper Award

A second Award was made this year for an article written for the Landwards Journal by Malcolm Carr-West entitled "Ethical Engineering, could the VW scandal happen at a British Company, and what woul dbe the consequences?" 

Malcolm Carr-West CEng FIAgrE was unable to attend the ceremony as he was on holiday but he said ‘I am honoured to have been given this award, and would have liked to be here in person to receive it.  It is particularly gratifying that the award is for a paper that I wrote because I felt passionate about the subject.  It is important that we as professional engineers maintain a high level of integrity and that we can be trusted by the general public.  The evident lack of integrity that occurred within the area of diesel emissions testing, has done profound damage to the reputation of diesel engines, to the engineers associated with them and by association to our profession.’


IVEL AwardThis award is made at the LAMMA Show to a new product that demonstrates the most positive contribution to the environment,  This year's IVEL Award went to The Witham Group based in Lincolnshire for their new range of lanolin based lubricands The Prolan Range.

Nigel Bottom, Witham Group Chief Executive was delighted to attend the Awards Presentation and collect the Ivel Award on behalf of his company.

Student Awards


Johnson New Holland Trophy Paper AwardThis trophy is awarded for the best final year project submitted as part of a First Degree, HND or HNC course in land based engineering. 

Daniel Robertson for his thesis, written whilst at Harper Adams University entitled: “Experimental Studies into the benefits and drawbacks of vibrating a conventional winged subsoiler tine”.  Daniel received his award from Rob Alker from CNH Industrial, who was delighted to see such skills and enthusiasm from young people entering Agricultural Engineering.

Student Project Award This award is given to the best final year project submitted as part of a course leading to ND, NVQ Level 3, or similar qualification in land based engineering.  

Philip Mattey won the award whilst at Coleg Sirgar for his project "Roto 8", a bale stacker designed to assist him on the farm at home.  He is now studying off-road engineering at Harper Adams University.

IAgrE Safety AwardThis new award has been established to encourage and recognise innovation in safe design or operation of equipment or processes by students studying agricultural engineering or subjects related to the application of engineering and technology to the land based sector. 

Michael Mathias also from Coleg Sirgar won this award for his project "Trailer Brake adjustment alarm", designed to alert mdrivers to brake problems. He is pictured here collecting his award from IAgrE President Dr Rob Merrall MIAgrE

Join Now
IAgrE offers membership grades for every stage of your
career - your passport to professionalism...
Contact Us
To contact the Membership department, click here.
If you have a query about events, click here...