Youtube Facebook Twitter linked in
Membership & Registration at a Glance
IAgrE is the professional body for engineers, scientists, technologists and managers in agricultural and allied landbased industries. Click the icons to find out more.

Awards 2019

The 2019 IAgrE Awards Presentation was once again held after our AGM and we were delighted to be hosted by the National Fluid Power Centre at Worksop

Citations for each award are available in the downloads section listed on the right.

The Honorary Fellowship Award - An Honorary Fellowship is the highest commendation awarded by the Institution.  It recognises outstanding service to both the Institution and to the Agricultural Engineering Profession.

 There was no Honorary Fellowship Awarded this year.


The IAgrE Award Of Merit - The Award of Merit is made to a person distinguished by their work in agricultural science or engineering or one that has rendered outstanding service to the Institution.

There were two awards made this year: 

Richard Barrowman CEng FIAgrE - For his outstanding service to the Institution through his valuable commitment to the Membership Committee

The IAgrE Award Of Merit

David Tinker CEng CEnv FIAgrE- For his outstanding service to the Institution and in supporting the success of EurAgEng

Dave was unable to attend the presentation as he was on holiday so we will present his Award next year



IAgrE Award For Contribution To The Landbased Sector - This Award is made to IAgrE members who have made sustained contributions to the landbased sector throughout their career.

There were two winners in 2019:

Clare Butler Ellis  - For her experience and expertise in spray applications for the Landbased sector

IAgrE Award For Contribution To The Landbased Sector

James (Jimmy) Wallace AIAgrE - For his long involvement with Engineering for the Landbased sector and for his support of the West Midlands Branch


The President's Award (formerly the Michael Dwyer Memorial Prize) The prize is to a mid-career engineer who has made outstanding progress in the agricultural engineering industry. The Institution is delighted that there were two winners again this year:

Richard Brindle CEng MIAgrE - for his successful team and project management in design and development

Branch Meritorious Service Award - Made to members who have consistently rendered outstanding service to their Branch of the Institution or a Technical Group over a number of years, there was one such award this year

Lawrence Knox IEng MIAgrE - Northern Ireland Branch - Lawrence was unable to attend the Presentation so he was presented with hs award at a Northern Ireland Techncial Meeting by Northern Ireland Branch Chairman Peter Frost and Executive Member Kit Franklin

Douglas Bomford Paper Award - The Award is offered to the author or authors of a paper which, in the previous calendar year, was published in full in the Institution journals “Landwards” and/or “Biosystems Engineering”. At least one of the authors must be a member of the Institution.

The winner of the Award this year, for his contribution to the paper “An innovative concept building design incorporating passive technology to improve resource efficiency and welfare of finishing pigs", Paul Jackson, Jonathan H. Guy, Barbara Sturm, Steve Bull, Sandra A. Edwards, Biosystems Engineering, Volume 174, 2018, Pages 190-203, ISSN 1537-5110

Paul Jackson, currently a Student Member of the Institution


The IAgrE Team Achievement Award - this was awarded in recognition of successful teamwork and demonstrates what can be achieved through collaboration

Thatcher's Cider - Nominated by the Western Branch following a visit to the factory in recognition of successful teamwork and achievement through collaboration and innovation

Sadly they were unable to attend in person and sent their apologies, Mike Whiting from the Western Branch visited in September and presented the Award to the Orchard Manager, Chris Muntz-Torres, who kindly gave Mike a quick tour of their current development work.

IVEL Award - This award is made at the LAMMA Show to a new product that demonstrates the most positive contribution to the environment,  This year's IVEL Award went to Agri Industry Solutions for their innovative Nutri-Flow Slurry System

Directors Tim Merrell & John Crooks were delighted to attend the Awards Presentation and collect the Ivel Award on behalf of Agri Industry Solutions

Student Awards


IAgrE CNH Industrial Award - Made on the basis of a dissertation or thesis undertaken by an undergraduate or postgraduate student as part of their studies demonstrating innovation and practical application in the landbased industry.  There are two awards available, an Undergraduate Award and a Post Graduate Award.

The Post Graduate Award was made to Iain Dummett, Cranfield University for his thesis “Evaluating Strip Tillage Practices for sustainable UK arable agriculture” 

We were delighted that Rob Alker from CNH Industrial, sponsors of the Award, was able to attend and present the Awards in person


IAgrE CNH Industrial Award - Made on the basis of a dissertation or thesis undertaken by an undergraduate or postgraduate student as part of their studies demonstrating innovation and practical application in the landbased industry. 

The Undergraduate Award was made to William Hitchcock from Harper Adams University for his paper “Quantifying the effects of a pre-cleaning chaser system on Sugar Beet recovery”


Student Project Award - This award is given to the best final year project submitted as part of a course leading to ND, NVQ Level 3, or similar qualification in land based engineering.  

Alwyn Morgan, Coleg Sirgar - for his project “Disc Brake Wear Sensor” 

Alwyn was unable to attend so his tutor Colin Jones from Coleg Sirgar stepped in to receive the award on Alwyn's behalf.

IAgrE Safety Award - This award has been established to encourage and recognise innovation in safe design or operation of equipment or processes by students studying agricultural engineering or subjects related to the application of engineering and technology to the land based sector. 

Kevin Shuttleworth, University of Central Lancashire for his paper “An investigation regarding the effects of acceleration produced by cabin suspension systems fitted to agricultural tractors upon the operator and operator health”

evin is pictured here explaining his research and his ambition for the results

IAgrE 80th Anniversary Photographic Competition Award - this was a competition designed to capture AgriTech in Action

The first prize was awarded to Nick Barlow for his fine picture showing how technology is changing the face of farming through precision agriculture

Join Now
IAgrE offers membership grades for every stage of your
career - your passport to professionalism...
Contact Us
To contact the Membership department, click here.
If you have a query about events, click here...