Youtube Facebook Twitter linked in
Membership & Registration at a Glance
IAgrE is the professional body for engineers, scientists, technologists and managers in agricultural and allied landbased industries. Click the icons to find out more.

2022 Awards

We were delighted to be able to welcome our Awardees to collect their Awards in person at our AGM & Awards Presentation, kindly hosted by CLAAS UK at the HQ in Suffolk on Wednesday 27th April 2022.  We had a wonderful day celebrating excellence in the land-based sector.  More will appear in the Summer 2022 edition of Landwards.

The citations for the awards are available in the Download box on the right.

The Honorary Fellowship Award - An Honorary Fellowship is the highest commendation awarded by the Institution.  It recognises outstanding service to both the Institution and to the Agricultural Engineering Profession.

Professor Jane Rickson CEnv FIAgrE - for her dedication to the environment and the land-based sector as well as her outstanding service to the Institution

The IAgrE Award Of Merit - The Award of Merit is made to a person distinguished by their work in agricultural science or engineering or one that has rendered outstanding service to the Institution.

Dr Nick Tillett MIAgrE - for his excellence as an agriculural engineer and his outstanding work on computer vision guidance

IAgrE Award For Contribution to The Land-based Sector - This Award is made to IAgrE members who have made sustained contributions to the land-based sector throughout their career.

Dr David Llewellyn CBE FIAgrE - for his immense contributions to activities in the land-based sector via his leadership at Harper Adams University and his broader involvement in higher education


The President's Award (formerly the Michael Dwyer Memorial Prize) The prize is to a mid-career engineer who has made outstanding progress in the agricultural engineering industry. The Institution is delighted to make the award again this year:

Daniel Hefft CEng MIAgrE - for his passion and enthusisiasm in promoting food engineering as a key component of agricultural enginering


Branch Meritorious Service Award - Made to members who have consistently rendered outstanding service to their Branch of the Institution or a Technical Group over a number of years.

Dr John Stafford CEng CEnv FIAgrE - South East Midlands Branch - for his unstinting input into the running of the South East Midlands Branch

Douglas Bomford Paper Award - The Award is offered to the author or authors of a paper which, in the previous calendar year, was published in full in the Institution journals “Landwards” and/or “Biosystems Engineering”. At least one of the authors must be a member of the Institution.

The winner of the Award this year, for his contribution to the paper "Analysis of effect of bentleg opener geometry on performance in cohesive soil using the discrete element method", Kojo Atta Aikins, James B. Barr, Diogenes L. Antille, Mustafa Ucgul, Troy A. Jensen, Jack M.A.Desbiolles,  Biosystems Engineering, Volume 209, 2021, Pages 106-124, ISSN 1537-5110 (This is the link to the paper)

Diogenes Antille CEng CEnv MIAgrE - Dio was unable to attend the event as he lives in Australia but he was delighted to receive the Award and sent a short video to thank the DBT and IAgrE

IAgrE CPD Awards - these are awarded on an occasional basis for outstanding CPD submitted for review to the IAgrE Professional Development Committee.

Two awards were made this year to:

David Thaemert CEng FIAgrE and to

Stephen Williams CEng MIAgrE

Stephen was unable to attend to collect his award becasue of work committments but passed on his thanks to IAgrE for the recognition.

The IAgrE Team Achievement Award - this was awarded in recognition of successful teamwork and demonstrates what can be achieved through collaboration

There was no Award in this category made this year


IVEL Award - This award is made at the LAMMA Show to a new product that demonstrates the most positive contribution to the environment.  There has been no LAMMA Show to date in 2022 and therefore no award has been made.


Student Awards


IAgrE CNH Industrial Award - Made on the basis of a dissertation or thesis undertaken by an undergraduate or postgraduate student as part of their studies demonstrating innovation and practical application in the landbased industry. 

Postgraduate Award

Diego Corona Lopez, University of Manchester - for his PhD thesis “Electrical Impedance Tomography for Root System Analysis” 

Sadly Diego contracted COVID so was unable to travel  to receive his Award - we hope to arrange an alternative presentation when he is recovered.


IAgrE CNH Industrial Award - Made on the basis of a dissertation or thesis undertaken by an undergraduate or postgraduate student as part of their studies demonstrating innovation and practical application in the landbased industry. 

Undergraduate Award

James Shaw, Harper Adams University - for his final project “An investigation into the geometric properties of Anaerobic Digestion plant digestate pellets to be used within commercial agricultural distribution methods as a biodegradable natural fertiliser”

We were very pleased that Mark Barnes, Manager of Product Support and Technical Training for CNH Industrial UK and Ireland was able to attend to present the Award that they sponsor to James.

Student Project Award - This award is given to the best final year project submitted as part of a course leading to ND, NVQ Level 3, or similar qualification in land based engineering.  

Because of the disruption caused by the pandemic no Student Projects we completed to be nominated


IAgrE Safety Award - This award has been established to encourage and recognise innovation in safe design or operation of equipment or processes by students studying agricultural engineering or subjects related to the application of engineering and technology to the land-based sector. 

William Campbell CEng MIAgrE - for his Master's thesis “Development of a forward collision avoidance perception module for an autonomous agricultural ground vehicle”


Join Now
IAgrE offers membership grades for every stage of your
career - your passport to professionalism...
Contact Us
To contact the Membership department, click here.
If you have a query about events, click here...