Facebook Twitter linked in
Membership & Registration at a Glance
IAgrE is the professional body for engineers, scientists, technologists and managers in agricultural and allied landbased industries. Click the icons to find out more.

2013 Awards

The 2013 IAgrE Awards Ceremony was held during the Annual Conference held on 14 March 2013 at Harper Adams University.  Several prestigious awards were made including the Award of Merit and the Award of Honorary Fellowship which are the highest honours that the Institution can bestow.


The IAgrE Award Of Merit
The Award of Merit is made to a person distinguished by their work in agricultural science or engineering or one that has rendered outstanding service to the Institution. There were two winners of this award this year:
Mr Geoffrey Wakeham and Prof Bill Day.  They join a list of distinguished recipients of this award including Prof E Mantovani, Professor E Wynne Jones, Brian Finney, Sir Anthony Bamford, Professor Godwin, Dr Helmut Claas, Joe Bamford (Mr JCB) and Tim Chamen.


IAgrE Honorary Fellowship
The Award of Honorary Fellow is made to a person distinguished by their work in agricultural science or engineering or to a distinguished person whom the Institution decides to honour for services rendered to the Institution, or whose association therewith is of benefit to the Institution. An Honorary Fellowship was awarded this year to Mr Peter Leech.


IAgrE Award For Contribution To The Land Based Sector
This Award is made to IAgrE members who have made sustained contributions to the land based sector throughout their career. There were two winners this year:
Mr Jim Loynes

Mr Tom Robinson




Michael Dwyer Memorial Prize
The prize is to a mid-career engineer who has made outstanding progress in the agricultural engineering industry. The winner this year was Mr Shaun Wealleans of SUMO UK Ltd.


Branch Meritorious Service Award
Made to members who have consistently rendered outstanding service to their Branch of the Institution over a number of years, the awards this year went to

Mr Simon Cooper of the Wrekin Branch

Mr David Roe of the East Midlands Branch



Douglas Bomford Paper Award
The Award is offered to the author or authors of a paper which, in the previous calendar year, was published in full in the Institution journals “Landwards” or “Biosystems Engineering”. At least one of the authors must be a member of the Institution. The winner of the Award this year was Mr John Richards for his contribution to the paper "Development of a device for sampling cattle breath"



Johnson New Holland Trophy Paper Award
This trophy is awarded for the best final year project submitted as part of a First Degree, HND or HNC course in land based engineering. This year's award was presented at LAMMA to : Paul Quayle, Harper Adams University, for his project entitled "Development and optimisation of a Cascade Aerator for a Reed Bed Water Filter".  Paul is pictured receiving the trophy from Rob Alker, CNH New Holland, who sponsor the award.


Student Project Award
This award is given to the best final year project submitted as part of a course leading to ND, NVQ Level 3, or similar qualification in land based engineering.  There was no award made this year.


IAgrE Safety Award
This new award has been established to encourage and recognise innovation in safe design or operation of equipment or processes by students studying agricultural engineering or subjects related to the application of engineering and technology to the land based sector. There was no award made this year.


Other awards presented at LAMMA


IVEL Award
This year's IVEL Award went to SOYL for the Retro Fit Depth Control System for Cultivators.  It was presented to David Whattoff.


75th Anniversary Award
This special one-off award was given to Richard Larrington Ltd for his product New Coil Suspension System which won a Certificate of Merit at LAMMA in the Best Improvement to an Existing Product category.


IAgrE/Guild of Agricultural Journalists Award
This new award for 2013 was presented at Cereals 2013.  The winner was Peter Hill and runner-up Oli Mark.


Join Now
IAgrE offers membership grades for every stage of your
career - your passport to professionalism...
Contact Us
To contact the Membership department, click here.
If you have a query about events, click here...